Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Hello world!

PLEASE READ: I’m moving my blog…

Starting today, I will be moving my blog.  This may be a little confusing, so bear with me.  To be clear, http://devkeydet.com (which redirects to http://devkeydet.spaces.live.com) will still be my official browser based web presence.  I will still use Windows Live Spaces for everything but blogging.  This means that any URLs I have sent/published on http://devkeydet.spaces.live.com will continue to work.  I will turn off syndication of my old blog (http://devkeydet.spaces.live.com/blog/) one week from today.  All new blog posts after this one will be syndicated via http://feeds.feedburner.com/devkeydet.  If you want to continue to get my posts in your RSS reader, please subscribe to this feed as soon as possible.

The reason I am doing this is because I need richer metrics about who is viewing my blog.  Windows Live Spaces only gives you Total page views, Page views today, Page views this week, and Page views within the last hour.  Many of my fellow Microsoft blogger’s get much richer information through FeedBurner and our new analytics tool code named Gatineau.  I am not aware of any way to get either of these working with the Spaces blogging engine.  I know it is a web "no-no" to change your blog.  I really don’t want to put people through the pain of having to subscribe to a new feed, but I need better metrics about my blog.  I sincerely apologize for the switcheroo.

The page that loads when you hit http://devkeydet.com or http://devkeydet.spaces.live.com will continue to surface archived content from my old blog as well as give you access to my new blog.

If you are reading this from http://blogs.msdn.com/publicsector, then you don’t have to change anything.  You are covered because my personal blog is "aggregated" to http://blogs.msdn.com/publicsector.

Posted in Uncategorized | 100 Comments

Improving the startup performance of your WPF applications

Quite a few questions came up about WPF at our last two Public Sector Developer Conferences in Seattle & Olympia, WA.  I forgot to let people know that I am keeping a WPF Resources list on my Windows Live Space.  I just added a link to a helpful blog post from the WPF Performance blog titled Improving WPF applications startup time

 

Posted in WPF | 100 Comments

WEBCAST: What’s New in the WCF and WF in Visual Studio 2008 & the .NET Framework 3.5

Windows Workflow Foundation (WF) and Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) were released in 2006 as part of the Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 with separate extensions for Microsoft Visual Studio 2005. These tools were improved on and are now integrated with Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 and enhanced in the .NET Framework 3.5.  This session demonstrates the top new features in Visual Studio 2008 and the .NET Framework 3.5 for WF and WCF. This is a demo heavy session, so do not expect many slides.

Topics will include:

  • Enhanced tooling for WCF
  • REST/Web Programming, Syndication (RSS/ATOM), and AJAX (JSON) with WCF
  • Workflow Services (exposing a Workflow as a WCF Service / Calling WCF services from a workflow)
  • SharePoint Workflows

A basic understanding of WCF (http://msdn.microsoft.com/wcf) & WF (http://msdn.microsoft.com/wf) is a prerequisite for this session.

When

January 30th 2:00P-3:30P EST (11:00A-12:30P PST)

Register at this link:

http://msevents.microsoft.com/CUI/EventDetail.aspx?EventID=1032363513&Culture=en-US

Note: Audio will be via the Internet.  Your machine will need a speaker.

 

Posted in .NET Framework 3.5 | 100 Comments

WEBCAST FOLLOW UP: What’s New for Web Developers in Visual Studio 2008 & the .NET Framework 3.5

Thanks to everyone who attended.  You can get the deck here and the code here.  The code has been updated for Visual Studio 2008 RTM.

 

Posted in .NET Framework 3.5 | 12 Comments

FOLLOW UP: Public Sector Developer Conference (Seattle & Olympia, WA)

Thanks to everyone who attended.  All of my demos are based on Visual Studio 2008 / .NET Framework 3.5 RTM.  Here are the downloads:

Introduction to LINQ + LINQ to SQLdeck, demo code

NOTE: You will need to install both the Northwind (available here) and AdventureWorks (available here) sample databases for the LINQ to SQL demos to work.  You may need to change connection strings based on you individual dev environment.

What’s New in WCF and WF in Visual Studio 2008 & the .NET Framework 3.5deck, demo code

NOTE: The SharePoint workflow demo is a walkthrough of the Hands On Lab (HOL) from the Visual Studio 2008 and .NET Framework 3.5 Training Kit (available here).  You will definitely want to check out the kit.  It is chock full of FREE TRAINING in the form of slide decks and HOLs.  BONUS: Recordings of the individual training kit sessions are available on channel9 here.

 

I was unable to answer a few questions that came up during the conferences.  In Seattle, I tried to jot some of them down.  Unfortunately, I forgot to save the questions in notepad:(.  In Olympia, I just asked people to email me.  Please feel free to email me your questions.  I will hunt down answers and post in the next few days.  Thanks!

 

SHAMELESS PLUG: Don’t forget about my What’s New for Web Developers in Visual Studio 2008 & the .NET Framework 3.5 webcast today:).

 

Posted in .NET Framework 3.5 | 100 Comments

Where’s the follow up from the Public Sector Developers Conference in WA?

I know I promised folks I would have all the updated VS2008 RTM code & slide decks for my WCF, WF, & LINQ presentations published by now.  Unfortunately, I am a little behind.  Due to some laptop configuration issues that required support (over many days) from our helpdesk, my demos are scattered between local projects and projects inside a VPC.  The good news is that my configuration issues are fixed.  The bad news is that I still have some work to do to package up my demos for download.  As soon as I returned from Washington State, I pretty much went straight to our Reston, Va office to help set up for the Sleepless in DC event.  I got home, went straight to bed, woke up, and stayed up for two days straight.  They weren’t kidding when they said "Sleepless."  Great event!  After the event was over, I watched some playoff football and then crashed!  I still can’t believe the Giants beat the Packers.  Monday was my recovery day.  I slept most of Monday:).  Today, I finished getting my demos in order for my webcast tomorrow.  I should be able to package up the code and post answers to some of the questions I couldn’t answer during Q&A in the next day or so.  Stay tuned!

Posted in Uncategorized | 29 Comments

WEBCAST: What’s New for Web Developers in Visual Studio 2008 & the .NET Framework 3.5

NOTE:  This is an updated delivery of a similarly titled webcast.  The demos are update for the final release of Visual Studio 2008.  Due to the amount of content, I have pulled out the "ASP.NET Futures" (now called the Microsoft ASP.NET 3.5 Extensions Preview) portion at the end.  I will be doing a full webcast on the Microsoft ASP.NET 3.5 Extensions Preview in March.

This session will cover some of the great new features in Visual Studio 2008.  Learn how web development with .NET continues to improve and evolve.  We will be covering:

  • Targeting a specific version of the .NET Framework (2.0, 3.0, 3.5)
  • The new ASP.NET page designer (split view, CSS and improved layout support, nested master pages, etc.)
  • Better control of markup & hierarchical data binding using the new ListView control
  • ASP.NET AJAX
    • New design time experience for extender controls
    • AJAX Web Part drag and drop
    • More controls supported in the UpdatePanel (menu, treeview, etc.)
    • JavaScript Intellisense
    • Debugging improvements
  • Simplify data access with LINQ to SQL & the LinqDataSource

When

January 23rd 2:00P-3:30P EST (11:00A-12:30P PST)

Register at this link:

http://msevents.microsoft.com/CUI/EventDetail.aspx?EventID=1032363500&Culture=en-US

Note: Audio will be via the Internet.  Your machine will need a speaker.

Posted in ASP.NET | 5 Comments

Xobni: I want this Outlook addin

I was catching up on some RSS reading and noticed this little nugget via Sean Alexander.  According to their website:

"Xobni Insight is an add-on for Microsoft Outlook that offers effortless email management and provides instant access to the most important information in your email.

After a quick install, you’ll see the new Xobni toolbar appear in Outlook – and suddenly your Outlook productivity will burst to life with blazing fast email search, automatic phone number discovery, threaded conversations, and more."

I’m sold after seeing their video at http://www.xobni.com/learnmore/.  I signed up for the beta.  Hopefully I get in soon!  Click the link below for to sign up yourself!

 

Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

2 new recorded webcast recordings

Robert & James each did a webcast for me while I was away on family leave.  I just update My Recorded Webcasts so you can find the recordings.  The titles are Advanced SharePoint Document Workflow with Visual Studio 2008 and Microsoft Silverlight for Designers.

Posted in Webcasts | Comments Off on 2 new recorded webcast recordings